Commission on Affirmative Action

The Affirmative Action Commission is comprised of nine members: Seven regular members, one member from the Board of Alders and one representative from the Civil Service Commission. 

Members are appointed by the Mayor and must be approved by the Board of Alders. Term of commission membership is two years.

The commission works to ensure equal opportunity in municipal government. This body shall be responsible for studying, recommending and pursuing changes to city ordinances and executive orders to ensure conformance with federal, state, local laws and regulations including the city charter. Additionally, the commission shall exercise oversight responsibility for implementing the city's affirmative action plan.

 For a full list of the commission’s powers and duties under Chapter II Article X, Sec. 2-583 of the City’s Code of General Ordinances,
click here.

Party  Affiliation Name Address  Term Expiration
Ex-Officio Scott Jackson

Democrat Tambira Armmand 664 Quinnipiac Ave March 1, 2021 
Democrat Kathleen Williams 68 Front Street March 1, 2021
Democrat Kyle Wong  205 Elm Street       March 1, 2021
Democrat Vacant   March 1, 2021
  Vacant   March 1, 2020 


March 1, 2020
  Vacant   March 1, 2020 
  Vacant, Civil Service Representative                                   March 1, 2020

Hon. Darryl Brackeen,

BOA's Representative

  December 31, 2020