WHAT IF MY VEHICLE WAS TAXED IN THE
WRONG TOWN?

Taxpayer must provide the following:
1. Connecticut registration showing the year, make, model, &VIN
of the vehicle. (Required)
AND any one of the next 5

2. A copy of your lease showing date(s)

3. Federal Income Tax return for the year in question.

4. A voter’s registration card showing registration date.

5. New Driver’s license with issue date.

6. An electric or gas bill showing the beginning service date

Note: All dates must be prior to October 1*

ACTIVE MILITARY DUTY

Taxpayer must provide the following:

State residents currently on active-duty military service may be
eligible for a full exemption on one motor vehicle. These forms must
be filed annually with the Assessor’s Office and are available online at
the City’s website as Active Military Duty Application for Exempt
Status for a Motor Vehicle

Non-residents stationed in Connecticut may also qualify for a full
exemption on their vehicles. An out of state resident based in CT must
file the form Claim For Property Tax Exemption In The State Of
Connecticut Under The Federal Servicemembers Civil Relief Act
annually with the Assessor’s Office.

Forms are available in the Assessor's Office and are also available
online at the City’s website

http://www.cityofnewhaven.com/Assessor/Forms.asp

ANY OTHER FORM OF VERIFICATION REQUIRES
AUTHORIZATION OF THE CITY ASSESSOR

Call the Assessors at (203) 946-4800 for further information &
application deadlines.

For further information about obtaining Proof of
Vehicle Sale:

If you do not have proof available supporting the sale of your vehicle,
you can obtain a plate return receipt or title search document from the
State of Connecticut, Department of Motor Vehicles. You must
complete a Copy Records Request and pay a fee to the DMV. It will
take 4-6 weeks for them to complete the transaction request. The closet
office of the Department of Motor Vehicles is located at:

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
1985 State Street
Hamden, CT 06517

For Information call 1-800-842-8222

Web Site HTTP:/DMVCT.ORG
E-Mail: MAIL@DMVCT.ORG

The Office of the Department of Motor Vehicles is closed on Mondays
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MOTOR VEHICLE ADJUSTMENTS

DEADLINE FOR PRESENTATION OF PROOF
FOR ADJUSTMENT

The proof for adjustments (“prorates”) of motor vehicles assessments
must be presented within 27 months of the assessment date.
Example: the owner of a vehicle with a bill with an assessment date of
October 1, 2013 has until December 31, 2015 to present all proofs of
disposal.
Taxpayer failure to provide all forms of proof for adjustment
within the 27 months of the assessment date forfeits the right to an
adjustment of the bill by CT law (12-71¢.)

Assessment
Date

Deadline for presentation of
proof for adjustment

Oct. 1, 2016 Dec. 31, 2018
Oct. 1, 2015 Dec. 31, 2017
Oct. 1, 2014 Dec. 31, 2016

VEHICLE ASSESSMENT APPEALS
Motor vehicle assessments billed in July may be appealed at the
September meeting of the Board of Assessment Appeals. It is strongly
recommended that people seeking an appeal pay their full tax bill on
time to avoid late penalties. If the assessment is reduced by the Board of
Assessment Appeals, upon presentation of documentation, a refund of
the difference a refund of the difference can be applied for.

Appeal forms are available from the Assessor’s Office at (203) 946-
4800 or online at

www.cityofnewhaven.com/Assessor/Forms.asp.

Failure to receive a motor vehicle tax bill does not invalidate the bill
or any accrued interest.

Please make checks payable to: Tax Collector - City of New Haven. If a
receipt is needed, send a self-addressed envelope with your payment
and bill.

The City of New Haven is open Monday thru Friday 9:00 AM —
5:00 PM.
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REQUIRED PROOFS FOR
PRORATIONS OF MOTOR VEHICLE
TAX BILLS
CITY OF NEW HAVEN

DEPARTMENT OF ASSESSMENT
165 CHURCH STREET
NEW HAVEN, CT 06510

WWW.CITYOFNEWHAVEN.COM

PHONE (203) 946-4800
Monday - Friday
9:00 am - 5:00 PM




MOTOR VEHICLE TAX BILLS
Motor vehicles tax bills that are issued July 1% encompass the period
form the preceding October 1 to the next September 30%. If you
disposed of your vehicle and did not transfer the plates to a
replacement vehicle, you may be entitled to a tax credit.
If you moved out of New Haven after October 1, the tax bill will still be
due in New Haven for that entire Grand List year. Motor Vehicle taxes
are not prorated from one Connecticut town to another Connecticut
town.
If you transferred your plates to a new (replacement) vehicle, you
are not entitled to an adjustment for the time period that the old
vehicle was no longer owned. In essence, the adjustment follows the
license plate. The original bill for the old vehicle should be paid. A
supplemental list will generate a bill for the new vehicle with an
assessment credit (exemption) for the period that the old vehicle was no
longer owned.
It is strongly recommended that people seeking an adjustment pay their
full tax bill on time. If the bill is adjusted, upon presentation of
documentation, a refund of the difference can be applied for due to the
vehicle being sold, totaled, donated etc. & the plates were not
transferred to a replacement vehicle.
Phone calls regarding information about required documentation for
adjustment does not stop additional late fees (if applicable) from
accruing.
From the category that best describes your situation entitled “What If
My Vehicle Was?” Forward the appropriate form(s) of proof to:

Office of the City Assessor
City Hall - 165 Church Street
New Haven, CT 06510
Phone Fax

(203) 946-4800 (203) 946-7122

assessor(@newhavenct.gov

CT Department of Motor Vehicles does not inform the City when
plates are returned or when vehicles are sold, registered out of state
or_otherwise disposed of. It is the taxpayer’s responsibility to
provide the required documentation within the time limits as
provided under applicable CT law.

Copies of CT Department of Motor Vehicles cancellation of plate
receipt may be requested from CT Department of Motor Vehicles
{Copy Records Division} at one of their site locations.
The CT Department of Motor Vehicles website is:

www.ct.gov/dmy
This site is useful for requesting Connecticut DMV change of address &
lost or stolen license plate forms.

All proof for adjustments (“prorates™) of motor vehicle regular list must
be presented within 27 months of the assessment date. Example: the
owner of a vehicle with a bill with an assessment date of October 1
2013 has until December 31, 2015 to present proof of disposal.
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MOTOR VEHICLE ADJUSTMENTS
If a difference exists in your ownership time period of a motor vehicle,
you may provide a copy of CT Department of Motor Vehicles
cancellation of plate receipt as proof of your claim to the Assessor’s
Office. If the vehicle was disposed during an earlier month to the
plates being cancelled, additional proof will be required to obtain a
higher credit. Please see What If My Vehicle Was?

PLEASE NOTE THAT VEHICLES WHICH YOU STILL OWN & ARE
NO LONGER REGISTERED, ARE TAXABLE AS NON-REGISTERED
MOTOR VEHICLES & MUST BE DECLARED AS PERSONAL
PROPERTY ANNUALLY.

What If My Vehicle Was?

1. WHAT IF MY VEHICLE WAS SOLD?

1. A copy of your title (front & back) with the year, make, model,
Vehicle Identification #, as well as buyer’s signature, as required by
Connecticut DMV.

2. A copy of the new owner’s registration or the new owner’s title with
the year, make, model & Vehicle Identification # of the vehicle.

3. Copy of a Trade-In Agreement with a dealer for the vehicle.

4. A Bill of Sale, signed and completed by both parties with the
appropriate transfer dates listed.

5. Official Lease Termination document if vehicle was leased.

NOTE: State Law Prohibits tax credits in vehicle transfers between
immediate family members (fathers, mothers, siblings, children,
etc)

2. WHAT IF MY VEHICLE WAS TOTALED/JUNKED?

1. A signed letter from your insurance agent or company on original
letterhead stating that the vehicle was totaled, the date of the accident
and the year, make, model & Vehicle Identification number and that the
salvage was retained by the insurance company.

2. Dated receipt from junk dealer to whom the vehicle was sold and the
year, make, model & Vehicle Identification number.

3. WHAT IF MY VEHICLE WAS STOLEN?

1. A signed letter from your insurance agent or company on original
letterhead stating that the vehicle was stolen and not recovered, date of
theft and the year, make, model & Vehicle Identification number.
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4. WHAT IF MY VEHICLE WAS REGISTERED OUT OF
STATE?

1. Copy of out-of-state registration or title, and which must indicate the
year, make, model, &VIN of the vehicle. (Required)

5. WHAT IF MY VEHICLE WAS REPOSSESSED?

1. Letter from the finance company stating the date vehicle was taken
and that it was not redeemed by you and the year, make, model &
Vehicle Identification # of the vehicle.

2. Copy of bill of sale or auction papers that show the year, make, and
model & Vehicle Identification # of the vehicle and date of sale.

7. WHAT IF MY VEHICLE WAS DONATED?

1. Letter from charitable organization stating that the vehicle was donated,
the date of the donation and the year, make, model & Vehicle Identification
# of the vehicle.

8. WHAT IF MY VEHICLE WAS REGISTERED OUT OF
COUNTRY?

1. All shipping Documents, Date Stamped and Signed

CREDIT TABLE*

You can use the table below to calculate potential credit.

Transaction Month Credit Factor
October 91.7%
November 83.3%
December 75%
January 66.7%
February 58.3%
March 50%
April 41.7%
May 33.3%
June 25%
July 16.7%
August 8.3%

*Only applicable to Regular Motor Vehicle Grand List.
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